Now, I can call you Chef.

May 16, 2012

“Here’s to you free souls, you firefly chasers
Tree climbers, porch swingers, air guitar players
Here’s to you fearless dancers, shaking walls in your bedrooms

There’s a lot of wonder left inside of me and you
Thank God even crazy dreams come true
-Carrie Underwood,”Crazy Dreams”

This blog post is a little behind schedule, but I’m sure some of you will recognize the star in this post as soon as you get to the pictures (and maybe even as you begin to read).

A little over two years ago, over wine at one of our local haunts, you mentioned that you were interested in going back to school to become a pastry chef. I never doubted your ability, drive, determination, or talent for a second. I knew you could do it if that was what you wanted. A week passed and we met up again. Same time, same place. Only this time, you’d already made the call and you were starting school the very next quarter… which happened to be just a couple of weeks away.

Those two years passed so fast… and yet so slow. There were times where it felt like you’d been in the same classes for years instead of weeks and there were so many times where I’d double take that it wasn’t just last week you had to fabricate a chicken in five minutes. I watched as you honed your skills and grew in your craft. I saw the long hours of studying and costing recipe cards. Even when it was difficult, I still saw that passion in your eyes and that smile when something turned out just as you imagined it.

And now, you’ve graduated. I’m so proud of you. I’m proud of you every day for reaching toward and fighting for that dream to do what you love to do. I love playing sous chef… but you’ve taught me so much more than how to dye fondant and how the eggs need to be at room temperature. You’ve shown me how to dream. Congratulations again best friend. To the moon.

Chef Jonnie Cakes

This one’s for you and me, living out our dreams
We’re all right where we should be
With my arms out wide I open my eyes
And now all I wanna see
Is a sky full of lighters
A sky full of lighters”
-Bad Meets Evil, “Lighters” 

3 Responses to “Now, I can call you Chef.”

  1. This is so sweet! USD and Founders Chapel Choir feel so long ago… and yet not! Glad to see you’re both doing wonderfully!

  2. [...] let this one speak for itself… another masterpiece. Congratulations to the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

