Never Forget

November 12, 2010

“Promise me you’ll never forget me because if I thought you would I’d never leave.” – Winnie the Pooh

Yesterday, we remembered our veterans as a country and most of the world remembered Armistice Day.  We remember because it’s important.

This weekend, I’m remembering someone else. The image below is an old picture, but an important one. You may already know from my previous fundraiser or from Clarity Defined that leukemia and childhood cancer have been motivating factors in how I live my life.

Four years ago this Sunday, my high school friend Courtney lost her battle to leukemia. She was 19 years old. She should have turned 20 the following week. She should still be here today – gearing up for another birthday and the holiday season.

If you’re gearing up for the holiday season, or just need to do some shopping, please use this 30% off coupon at Gap, Old Navy, or Banana Republic and encourage your friends to do the same. Gap, Inc. will donate 5% of what you spend to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Courtney has been a huge inspiration in my life – I hope she’ll inspire you too.

Gone from the Ground, Into the Heavens

For all cancer angels, know that we won’t stop until we find a cure. We’ll never forget you. Courtney, I’ll be thinking of you even more this Sunday. I can’t believe it’s already been four years.

Leave a Reply

