Little Love

September 14, 2011

Her mom was my very first best friend… and she’s my oldest friend. We’ve been friends since preschool. Daisies. Brownies. Schoolmates. We mothered our dolls and played for hours; elaborate stories and exciting adventures in the countryside (and sometimes the poison oak! oops!); singing Disney songs at the top of our lungs; and so on and so on…

At the end of 3rd grade, I moved hundreds of miles away. In the pre-internet, long-distance-phone-calls-are-expensive days, our friendship could have withered. Instead, we became fierce pen pals and seized every opportunity to see each other in person (even if though sometimes it may have only been once every three years). Silly letters that we’ve both kept… some of which I hear are stored in the Little Love’s room at the moment. We can see our handwriting improve… our lives mature… the price of postage going up. And through it all, you can see a friendship.

Tara, I’m unbelievably blessed by your presence in my life and I’m so glad your Little Love came early so I could meet her. She’s beautiful and I cannot wait to hear the stories of HER growing up. I watched you mother your dolls as we played for hours at my house or yours. Our imaginations ran wild and even then I knew you’d be a fantastic mom one day. In the much too short visit we had last month, I saw all of my beliefs confirmed. She’s so lucky to have you… and Dustin too.

All my love to you and your family… thank you so much for a splendid visit. And welcome to the world Little Love, we’re SO glad you’re here!

Little Love

Leave a Reply

